Our People

Our Teachers

The Academy of Scholars boasts a newly renovated building with customized classrooms, a challenging curriculum and best-in-class equipment. But what makes us truly unique, and what will have the greatest impact on our scholars, is the instruction they will receive from some of the best teachers in the nation.

Our teachers are state-certified, have great passion for learning and proven expertise in positively influencing the lives of the young people they serve. Several of our teachers have lived and taught in foreign countries, some are published authors, many are multi-lingual, world travelers, award recipients and graduates from some of the best colleges and universities.

We have great expectations of our young scholars and have put the right teachers in place who will direct their academic development and success!

Faculty (Ordered by Grade)

India Boyd (Pre-K)Shayna HuffLauren Johnson (Pre-K)Melissa Walker (Pre-K)Caitlin Goss (Kindergarten)Kimberly Harvey (Kindergarten)AnGelique Humphrey (Kindergarten)
Kelly Oxendine (Kindergarten)Lauren Peluso (Kindergarten)Adelma Bryant (1st Grade)Courtney Clack (1st Grade)Kyndra Clark (1st Grade)Rebecca Fernandez (1st Grade)Alexandra Passamichalis (1st Grade)
Crystal Bridges (2nd Grade)Patrina Cochran (2nd Grade)Kerry-Ann Nelson (2nd Grade)D. Cathryn Weems (2nd Grade)Candice Bellard (3rd Grade)Alicia Bideau (3rd Grade)Mallory Herd (3rd Grade)
Rachel Noel (4th Grade)Margie Cooper (4th Grade)Shonte Dulin (5th Grade)Danadia Johnson (5th Grade)Gabrielle Burrough (6th Grade)Shaun Coleman (6th Grade)Mari Aurino (Coding Instructor)
Nelson Raphael (Coding Instructor)Valicia Boone (Media Specialist)Tahirah Washington (Media Specialist)Demesha Foster (Physical Education)Christina Whaley-Edwards (Physical Education)Pamela Parry (Spanish)Corliss Sanders (Bible Studies & Character Development)
Ashley Smith (Bible Studies & Character Development)Sophia Savary (Building Sub)HesterAngelina Wead

Support Staff

Nadir BaasetWillie CainNathaniel CantyEric HolmesWillie PooleJaneen TownsendAndrew Wells


Stacy Johnson (Director of Student Success)Benny Crane (Assistant Director of Student Success)Mallory Herd (Director of Curriculum & Instruction)Rhohanna McGawn (Executive Assistant)Lauren Rose (Executive Assistant)